Want to help protect Sefton sand dunes’ important wildlife?

Volunteers are an important part of the Gems in the Dunes project and are responsible for carrying out vital habitat management and species surveys within an incredibly rare habitat. If you want to get involved, see below for our Autumn volunteer programme! 

Dates, times and tasks may change from time to time. To make sure you keep up to date, why not register with us as a volunteer? Email the team at [email protected] and ask for a volunteer form!

Click on the links to take you to the meeting places!

Date and time

Task

Description

Meeting at:

Saturday 11th January 10am-3pm

Buckthorn bash and burn

Clearing invasive sea buckthorn and other scrub from the dunes.

Ainsdale Discovery Centre, Ainsdale, PR8 2QB

Tuesday 14th January 10am-3pm

Buckthorn bash and burn

Clearing invasive sea buckthorn and other scrub from the dunes.

Ainsdale Discovery Centre, Ainsdale, PR8 2QB

Tuesday 21st January 10am-3pm

Buckthorn bash and burn

Clearing invasive sea buckthorn and other scrub from the dunes.

Ainsdale Discovery Centre, Ainsdale, PR8 2QB

Sunday 26th January 10am-3pm

Buckthorn bash and burn

Clearing invasive sea buckthorn and other scrub from the dunes.

Car Park, Easedale Drive, Ainsdale, PR8 3TS

Wednesday 29th January 10am-3pm

TBC

TBC

Lifeboat Road Car Park, Formby, L37 2DD

Tuesday 4th February 10am-3pm

Buckthorn bash and burn

Clearing invasive sea buckthorn and other scrub from the dunes.

Ainsdale Discovery Centre, Ainsdale, PR8 2QB

Saturday 8th February 10am-3pm

Buckthorn bash and burn

Clearing invasive sea buckthorn and other scrub from the dunes.

Harewood Avenue, Southport, PR8 2PH

Tuesday 11th February 10am-3pm

Buckthorn bash and burn

Clearing invasive sea buckthorn and other scrub from the dunes.

Ainsdale Discovery Centre, Ainsdale, PR8 2QB

Friday 14th February 10am-4pm

Buckthorn bash and burn

Clearing invasive sea buckthorn and other scrub from the dunes.

Esplanade, Southport, PR8 1RX

Tuesday 18th February 10am-3pm

Buckthorn bash and burn

Clearing invasive sea buckthorn and other scrub from the dunes.

Car Park, Easedale Drive, Ainsdale, PR8 3TS

Sunday 23rd February 10am-3pm

Buckthorn bash and burn

Clearing invasive sea buckthorn and other scrub from the dunes.

Entrance to sailing club, Thornbeck Avenue, Hightown, L38 9EY

Wednesday 26th February 10am-3pm

TBC

TBC

Lifeboat Road Car Park, Formby, L37 2DD

Tuesday 3rd March 10am-3pm

Buckthorn bash and burn

Clearing invasive sea buckthorn and other scrub from the dunes.

Esplanade, Southport, PR8 1RX

Saturday 7th March 10am-3pm

Buckthorn bash and burn

Clearing invasive sea buckthorn and other scrub from the dunes.

End of Mossgiel Avenue, Ainsdale, PR8 2RE

Tuesday 10th March 10am-3pm

TBC

TBC

Ainsdale Discovery Centre, Ainsdale, PR8 2QB

Tuesday 17th March 10am-3pm

TBC

TBC

Ainsdale Discovery Centre, Ainsdale, PR8 2QB

Sunday 22nd March 10am-3pm

Buckthorn bash and burn

Clearing invasive sea buckthorn and other scrub from the dunes.

Ainsdale Discovery Centre, Ainsdale, PR8 2QB

Tuesday 24th March 10am-3pm

TBC

TBC

TBC

Tuesday 31st March 10am-3pm

TBC

TBC

TBC

If you would like to get involved or would like more information, please get in touch on 01704 571 575, email [email protected] or head to the Gems in the Dunes Facebook Group. Please remember to dress appropriately and bring enough food and drink for the day.