ARC is a member of the UK Overseas Territories Conservation Forum, a network that brings together Non-Governmental Organisations and institutions involved with furthering conservation of the natural heritage in the Overseas Territories.

With the financial support of the Joint Nature Conservation Committee, we produced a complete species inventory and overview of conservation and research priorities for the herpetofauna in the territories; this involved circulating a draft version of the report (from March 2009) for comment, and we are grateful to those who provided input. This document (dated July 2010) and is available to download here.

We have undertaken work in the Channel Islands and other UK Crown Dependencies, both as ARC and as HCT. This includes work in Jersey: survey, monitoring, habitat management work and providing conservation advice for the agile frog and green lizard; supporting the development of the action plan for the agile frog, working with Jersey Zoo and contributing to research on the toad. We are promoting survey through the National Amphibian and Reptile Recording Scheme on the Channel Islands and on the Isle of Man. As HCT, we produced a draft Action Plan for the Bermuda Skink Plestiodon longirostris and have attended two UK Overseas Territories Conferences. Amphibian and Reptile Conservation is actively looking to further develop involvement in the Overseas Territories, Crown Dependencies and Sovereign Base Areas.

Amphibians and Reptiles of the UK Overseas Territories

The UK Overseas Territories are 14 groups of islands scattered across all seven seas. The Territories are home to a dazzling array of amphibians and reptiles, including dozens of species that occur nowhere else on Earth. This diversity includes many species of iguanas, including the spectacular blue iguana of the Cayman Islands, tortoises, sea turtles, several boas (including a rainbow boa with iridescent scales) chameleons and one of the world's largest frogs. This mini-documentary explores this astounding diversity of amphibian and reptile species.

The “UK Overseas Territories, Crown Dependencies and Sovereign Base Areas” are listed below together with the number of species of amphibian and reptile they support.

British Antarctic Territory (no herpetofauna recorded)

The Atlantic
Ascension Island (4 indigenous, 4 introduced)
Bermuda (5 indigenous, 8 introduced)
Falkland Islands (no herpetofauna recorded)
South Georgia and the Sandwich Islands (no herpetofauna recorded)
St. Helena (2 indigenous, 2 introduced)
Tristan da Cunha (no herpetofauna recorded)

The Carribbean
Anguilla (17 indigenous, 8 introduced)
British Virgin Islands (31 indigenous, 6 introduced)
Cayman Islands (24 indigenous, 14 introduced)
Montserrat (15 indigenous, 3 introduced)
Turks and Caicos Islands (15 indigenous, 2 introduced)

Europe and the Mediterranean
Balliwick of Guernsey [crown dependency] (4 indigenous, 1 introduced)
Balliwick of Jersey [crown dependency] (8 indigenous, 1 introduced)
Cyprus - Sovereign Base Areas (up to 30 indigenous, 2 introduced)
Gibraltar (22 indigenous, 9 introduced)
Isle of Man [crown dependency] (3 indigenous)

The Indo-Pacific
British Indian Ocean Territory (3 indigenous, 6 introduced)
Pitcairn Islands (3 indigenous, 4 introduced)